Resolutions?Say what now?

2013-Resolutions
So sitting in the couch, listening to our fave radio show and the presenter asks people about their year’s resolutions. Well, i wasn’t shocked when my mind went completely into a blur with no answers. When i think of my 2013, people seemed to give more eye contact, more patience, more hard work, dreams seemed bigger and minds more open. I should think this was the result of resolutions. Am fond of making a long list of goals to achieve, s̶o̶m̶e̶ ̶m̶o̶r̶e̶ ̶r̶i̶d̶i̶c̶u̶l̶o̶u̶s̶ ̶t̶h̶a̶n̶ ̶t̶h̶e̶ ̶r̶e̶s̶t̶ , i should think it makes me seem more serious and less of a life free lancer but i kind of love it. I don’t mind making resolutions at all, every one has their own way of living but i just could not seem to keep up with the pace the year was running. So as i got back to my room and pulled out my 2013 Hand Book, opened the first page with deep breaths, i looked at my resolutions and none had been checked off the list. My heart made a huge sink and panic filled my mind. All i kept counting was the minutes, hours and days remaining to 2014 and calculating how fast i would get some done. The first was Be happy and smile more which seemed silly seeing the panic state i was in..so i run to my mirror and practiced the perfect smile then i tried to recall how many times i smiled which became stressful but since that day had been perfect, i checked it off. Next on the list was making someone smile per day so doing the same thing, tried recalling how many people i made smile this year.. so i just decided to check it off as well..and the list continued.. At the end, i realized i had graduated, been as nice as possible to people, was spontaneous, less stressed with certain elements in my life, made new recipes, blogged more as well plus i made stronger lasting friendships and memories with my friends, which to me, summarized a pretty cool year. Resolutions are not to refrain you from being imperfect or get crazy trying to finish them but to teach us to make goals that we can apply to our own lives. Many of us are just like me, we lose hope when the year is so close to ending and we really haven’t had a major milestone but not to worry, we all have our own timing for stuff so instead of panicking like me, you can keep a journal in which you can write down your day’s achievements, even the small ones like smiling at a stranger. So am excited to finish my resolutions and it is okay if i don’t as long as i tried, some might just enter next year and it is okay, my dreams will keep getting bigger and that is far better.
xoxo
APW

Leave a Reply

